View and Manage Sections
Users can easily see all of the sections available on their site by visiting the Manage Site Tab > Sections.
From this new portal, users can also access the edit screens for their sections and manage their content accordingly.
The Section editor includes many fields that you’re already familiar with but a few that are special:
- Title: This is simply text that is branded in keeping with the site headline styles. It is also used as the H1 so should always be defined.
- Title Image: If you want to use an image for the section title instead of branded text, you can add a title image. This provides an opportunity to have a richer title displayed to users on the Section Hub. This is not required. If a Title Image is not defined the fallback is the Title which is text based on the site headline styles. The alt text for the title image should reflect the title of the section since it will be used as the H1.
- Background Image: This is the full width image that appears at the top of a Section Hub as part of the section branding.
- Body: You are welcome to add body copy to your section page. This copy will appear at the top of the page under the title, offering a narrative to the content collection.
- Slug: The slug of the section which will appear as the section URL for the landing page. For example, https://www.cleaneatingmag.com/clean-diet.
Note: The Section Slug can also appear in the URL for any content that is assigned to the section. For example, http://cupcakesandcashmere.com/food/the-perfect-holiday-party-spread. However, this is not always the case as some sites may prefer not to include the section in the URL but opt for a different URL format, such as including the date instead. For example, http://www.joyofkosher.com/2015/11/the-most-flavor-packed-easiest-thansgiving-recipes/
Create New Sections
Users can easily create new sections and place them within your section hierarchy.
Once the new section is created and seeded with content, reach out to Customer Support to help add it to your Primary Navigation and/or Off Canvas Navigation.
Subsections - Section Hierarchy
We now support subsections. For example, you may have a parent section News with subsections U.S. News, International News, State News.
To create a subsection, simply create a new section and define which section it should nest under.
To create a top-level parent section, do not define a section in which it should nest under.
Note: In order to perform “move” actions you must have the role Site Admin assigned. Editors can assign other users as Site Admin.
We introduced a pencil icon available next to any section which has a menu of actions including Edit, Move, or Delete.
The Move action allows a user to change where the section lives within the hierarchy. Let’s review how you would leverage this action.
First, click on the pencil icon and open up the menu.
When the Move action is selected a modal will appear providing some basic information such as the section you are moving, the number of content items that will be affected by the change, and a menu option of where to move the section to.
It is important to note the number of content items that will be affected by the change. Moving a section can change the path of the content items that have it assigned, which means that all associated content will take an SEO hit. Tempest will automatically create redirects when these sorts of actions are performed to help mitigate some of that loss but still, these changes should not be made lightly or frequently.
There is a “Move To” dropdown where you can determine where this section should be moved. If no section is selected, the section will be made a top-level Parent section.
Note: If you move a section that has subsections associated with it, all of the subsections move with it.
If you do select a section, it will be moved based on your selection. In the example below, Diets will be moved under “Health & Nutrition”.
Note: In order to delete sections you must have the role Site Admin assigned. Editors can assign other users as Site Admin.
Sections can be deleted if they have no subsections and do not have any content associated with them.
This means that all subsections must be moved and/or deprecated before the section could be deleted. This also means that all content currently associated with the section needs to be reassigned.
If you try to delete a section that does not meet these requirements, you will receive the following error:
To delete a section from the Manage Sections page, click on the pencil icon and select Delete.
To delete a section from the Edit Section page, open the publishing options dropdown and select Delete.
Note: In order to Organize Content you must have the role Site Admin assigned. Editors can assign other users as Site Admin.
The Organize Content tab can be used to move content from one section to another. This is very useful when attempting to deprecate a section since it requires that no content be associated with it. This can also be helpful when trying to seed new sections with content.
Within the Organize Content tab, there are a set of filters that can be applied to segment the content that you wish to perform an action against. This includes searching by keyword, filtering by the primary section assigned, the additional section assigned, by rich term and even filtering by content type.
Once you have segmented out the content set to organize, there are three actions that can be taken: Assign Primary Section, Assign Additional Section, and Unassign Additional Section(s).
The Primary Section defines the canonical home of the content item. This is used to construct the URL of the content item (in most cases, unless you’re using date based URLs), for ad serving, for breadcrumbs, and for section labels.
Additional Sections define other areas of the site where the content item may live. This is not used for ad serving, breadcrumbs, or section labels. These are essentially alternative homes for the content across the site.
One Action at a Time
Only one “move” or “organize content” action can happen at a time. A notification bar will appear identifying when an action is in progress. This notification will communicate that all other actions are blocked until the current action is completed. When actions are completed, the page will refresh and the notification bar will disappear.
When creating new sections in your taxonomy, these sections will automatically be added to your site map that is submitted to Google. There should be no SEO risk in adding new sections except to say that these new sections should be seeded with content. Empty or thin sections over a long period of time will not be good for SEO.
When deprecating sections from your taxonomy, there is no SEO risk. These sections will be removed from your site map that is submitted to Google. Google will re-crawl this site map, see that the page 404s which tells Google to drop this out of the index because the page no longer exists.
When moving content around from one section to another -- either to seed a new section with content or as part of deprecating a section -- there is some SEO risk because generally, this means that the URLs for this content will change. Note this does not apply for sites that are using date based URLs. We will automatically create redirects for any URL changes to help mitigate this risk but again, these changes should be made thoughtfully -- reflecting a broader content strategy -- and kept to a minimum.
Note: In order to Download the section taxonomy you must have the role Site Admin assigned. Editors can assign other users as Site Admins.
Site Admins can download their site’s section taxonomy. This can be helpful after performing a large set of section taxonomy changes that require that ad ops update the hierarchies on their end for ad targeting purposes.