When choosing to publish an article you have the option to publish right away or schedule an article to publish at a future time. Upon publishing an article, new options appear in the "Publish" dropdown
Prior to publishing:
We have a several different options that a user can select as the publication status of content:
- Unpublished: This is the default status of a newly crafted piece of content. This simply indicates that the content has not been published, scheduled, updated etc.
- Publish: To publish a post to the live site immediately.
- Schedule: To schedule a post. when selected, a modal pops up with a calendar and time picker to schedule the day/time the post should be scheduled to publish.
- Re-publish: This republishes a post with a new time stamp and sends the article to the top of the hub feed(s). This would likely be used if a site is repurposing evergreen content but they want to resurface this with some new additional content such as an updated video etc. This is typical for sites that have viral content and they want to resurface an article/post that performed very well in the past.
- Update: This is used to simply update a post with changes -- such as fixing a typo -- without changing the time stamp of the post (it will stay in its current position in your hub feed). This will be reflected in the display date and meta data, signaling to readers and search engines that the content has been modified.
- Silent Update: This updates the content but unlike the regular "Update" option, this will not modify the display date or the metadata that is seen by search engines.
- Unpublish: This pulls the content off of the site entirely but keeps the post alive within the CMS just in case the site decides to publish this piece of content later down the line. This is most typically used for sponsored posts and/or racy posts that had to be taken down for some particular reason.
Versioning and Publication